Out of Stock


Instead of playing it safe and writing Moving Pictures, Pt. II, Rush replaced their heavy rock of yesteryear with even more modern sounds for 1982's Signals. Synthesizers were now an integral part of the band's sound, and replaced electric guitars as the driving force for almost all the tracks. And more current and easier-to-grasp topics (teen peer pressure, repression, etc.) replaced their trusty old sci-fi-inspired lyrics. While other rock bands suddenly added keyboards to their sound to widen their appeal, Rush gradually merged electronics into their music over the years, so such tracks as the popular MTV video Subdivisions did not come as a shock to longtime fans. And Rush didn't forget how to rock out -- The Analog Kid and Digital Man were some of their most up-tempo compositions in years. The surprise hit, New World Man, and Chemistry combined reggae and rock (begun on 1980's Permanent Waves), The Weapon bordered on new wave, the placid Losing It was one of the band's few guitar-less tracks, while the epic closer Countdown painted a vivid picture of a space shuttle launch. Signals proved that Rush were successfully adapting to the musical climate of the early '80s. Greg Prato, All Music Guide

From The Rush Remasters Series. Newly 20-bit remastered from the original master tapes. Enhanced packaging faithful to the original album release in 1982.

This CD is on the Anthem label.


Publisher: Anthem Entertainment
Release date: 
UPC: 0731453463325

This item is not available for sale at this time.

Track List

  1. Subdivisions –5:34
  2. The Analog Kid –4:47
  3. Chemistry –4:56
  4. Digital Man –6:23
  5. The Weapon (Part II of Fear) –6:27
  6. New World Man –3:44
  7. Losing It –4:53
  8. Countdown –5:48